• God is who He says he is.
  • God can do what He says He can do.
  • I am who God says I am.
  • I can do all things through Christ.
  • God’s Word is alive and active in me.

As Christians, one of our biggest priorities is to read and study God’s Word. How can we truly be a follower if we don’t know who we are following. Consistently reading, praying, and spending time with the Author of the Bible will acquaint you with your Saviour. We cannot presently and actively believe God if we aren’t presently and actively in His Word.

Romans 10:17 (NKJV), “So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.”

Psalm 119:105 (NKJV), “Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path.” 


Psalm 119:11 (NKJV), “Your word I have hidden in my heart, That I might not sin against You!”

We must diligently be engaged in the Word of God so that our faith may grow, that we may have direction for our lives, and that we are able to be obedient and stand against the wiles of the enemy”. Ephesian 6:17 states that the Word of God is our sword. It is our offensive weapon against the enemy. You can’t effectively wield a weapon that you are unfamiliar with. We, also, will never abide in our promised land if God’s promises don’t abide in us.

Joshua 1:8 (NKJV),This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.” 


Living according to the Word of God is the key to true success.

Hebrews 4:12 (NKJV), “For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.”

Living, powerful, sharper,piercing, and discerner are all pretty impressive descriptive words for the Word of God. This Word when received by a believer is living and powerful and discerning. this living Word is what leads us down the right path. It is what grows our faith. It is what produces obedience. It is what us successful. This is an active Word.

The power of God’s Word becomes power in us. The activity of the Word become active in us. The effectiveness of the Word become effective in us.

Isaiah 55:11 (NIV), “so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.” 


God’s Word accomplishes what God sent it to do. It is an accomplishing Word. But we must read it, accept it, and receive it before it can accomplish great things in us. What do you expect from the Word as you read it? Are you expecting to be empowered, successful, active, and energized by the Word? We most often get exactly what we expect. If we are just reading to fulfill your daily checklist of religious duties then you will receive only the ability to check off your list. If you are reading for empowerment, faith, and the ability to be obedient to that Word then that will be the dividend you receive.

When you read and come across a promise in the Word of God that you desire, speak it out and claim it. As a believer and a child of God, you have the right to claim every promise in the Word. Pray those verses daily until you receive it.

2 Timothy 3:16 say all scripture is God breathed, so don’t just read it like any other book. Read it as God’s promises to you. If God is indeed, who He says He is and can do what He says He can do and I am who God says I am and can do all things through Christ as the Word says, then surely, those promises are for me – a child of God.

When we receive the Word of God, it is then empowered by the Holy Spirit living within us. Holy Spirit is the Spirit of Truth. He is active and alive inside of us and will cause the power of the Word of God to be active in our life. All we must do is yield to the Holy Spirit as He does the work in us.

In my weak state, God’s Word is powerful. In my confused state, God’s Word is clarity. In my lost state, God’s Word is direction. In my dark state, God’s Word is light. In my diseased state, God’s Word is healing.

His Word is all I need to live powerfully and successfully in this world. I must read it, study it, accept it, and receive it; then I must speak it, claim it, and live it. God’s Word is surely alive and active in me!

based on “Believing God” by Beth Moore
study by Laurie L Webb

